Oatmeal

17 Jan

OATMEAL

I mentioned in an earlier post that my parents have started a cleanse. Today is Day 2 for them. Let me start by telling you that my dad is an old-fashioned Italian who likes his pasta and wine and is not always open to the idea of trying new things. Obviously neither pasta nor wine are options for them over the course of this 12 day cleanse. So in an attempt to make this cleanse a successful one, I created a meal plan with some healthy dishes that I am hoping both my parents will eat. They may not enjoy all of them but the point is getting them to eat it. Well…watching my father eat his oatmeal for breakfast this morning was priceless!!! I should have taken a picture of the look on his face when I came down the stairs and saw him trying to swallow that oatmeal. He looked so disgusted it was hilarious!

That reaction is not uncommon. And that is why I felt obligated to write this post. A lot of people seem to cringe when I tell them how much I LOVE oatmeal and that I have it every morning for breakfast! Now let’s be honest, plain old oatmeal is boring and yes, for some, may even be disgusting. That is why you need to spice it up!!! Change it up! Trust me; I would not be having oatmeal every single morning if I wasn’t creative about preparing it.  So here are some ideas for you to spice up your oatmeal. Give one a try…you may be surprised at how yummy it can be!!!

For all the ideas below, prepare the oatmeal as directed.  You can use either quick oats oatmeal, steel-cut oats, or any other form of plain, natural oatmeal.  The instant oatmeal packages are NOT an option!  Use more water if you like your oatmeal creamier.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal (this one is my current favourite!!)
1 cup cooked oatmeal
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
½ apple chopped
2 tbsp slivered almonds
cinnamon to sprinkle on top

Berry Delight

1 cup cooked oatmeal
1 tbsp flaxseed
1 cup mixed berries of your choice
1 tbsp cashews
1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Going Bananas
1 cup cooked oatmeal
1 tbsp wheat germ
1/2 cup soy milk (or non-fat milk)
1/4 cup walnuts
1/2 banana
1/4 cup blackberries

Craving Cranberries
1 cup cooked oatmeal
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 cup cranberries
1/4 cup almonds
1/2 cup fat-free milk (or soy or almond milk)

Protein Punch
1 cup cooked oatmeal
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 scoop protein powder
1/2 cup fat-free milk (or soy or almond milk)

Granola Crunch
1 cup cooked oatmeal
1 tbsp clean granola
1 fresh peach
1 scoop protein powder
1/2 cup fat-free milk (or soy or almond milk)

Do you get the idea?  I could go on forever!!!  If none of the above ideas appeal to you then be creative.  Put in ingredients that you love.  The only way you are going to like your oatmeal is if you like what you put in it.  Give it a try…I DARE YOU!

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

 

Leave a Reply

