So Proud of You

28 Jan

It’s not often that we get to tell our parents how proud we are of them so I am taking full advantage of this opportunity to tell my mom and dad how proud I am of them.

Yesterday marked the end of their 12-day cleanse.  They did it!!!  BOTH of them.   They lost a combined total of 10-12lbs.  I witnessed my mom going to the gym and my dad even attempted to work out in the basement one night this week.  But that’s not all.  They learned about healthy eating and portion control and have come to appreciate good nutrition.  They both claim to feel great and to me that is what made this cleanse a success.   I watched them as they took their 6 pills and 40 drops every morning and then repeated the same routine again at dinner.  I observed my mom in the kitchen early in the morning as she prepared all the meals and snacks the two of them were to eat for the day and watched my father eat oatmeal almost every morning.  See my earlier blog inspired by my dad  http://wp.me/s1lnVT-oatmeal.  This is a man who never before even ate breakfast!!  I hope this is the beginning of a new journey for them both. 

Like everything else they seem to do in life, my parents achieved this accomplishment together – as a team.   There isn’t another couple out there I know that are like my parents.  Yes, I may be a little bias, but they are my parents and this is my blog so I am allowed to say it.  My mom and dad have been married for over three decades and not only do they love and respect each other but they are in love with each other. 

July 21, 1979

Although he would probably deny it now, my dad was very strict while I was growing up.  I am the eldest of three girls so you can imagine the tight reign my dad had on all of us.  My mom always did her best to “work him in” when we would cry to her about him not letting us do anything and sometimes it actually worked.  What they both did though, was encourage us to follow our dreams and they expected nothing but the best from each of us.  They gave us great guidance and allowed each of us to cultivate our own paths in life without ever trying to dictate what decisions we should make.  That freedom enabled each of us to become strong, independent, confident and successful women and I thank them both for that.

RoseMarie, Dad, Tonia, Mom and Me

 

That strength and confidence is what has brought me to the place I am at today.  It’s a good place.  I am proud of who I have become and I hope they are too.  I can only hope my children will be as proud of me one day as I am of my parents.

This post is dedicated to you, Mom and Dad.  I love you and I am so very proud of you.

Lisa

 

One Response to “So Proud of You”

  1. Tanya January 29, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    Hey Lisa
    I already told you but just wanted to say what a beautiful post on your parents success story; its so amazing and your parents must be so proud.
    Can you post this cleanse on line for all of us?
    Thanks Lisa
    Tanya

Leave a Reply

