A Funny Story

6 Feb

Children are watching.  As a parent, you must have noticed at one time or another, your child doing something that he or she has seen you do.  Sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s bad.  Whether it’s your 4 year old daughter staring at herself in the mirror and attempting to apply lipstick, or your 2 year old uttering the four-letter “F” word, we as parents, have all been there and have been either embarrassed by it or pleasantly surprised!!  Well for me it was the latter…

The other day my son was in his room.  He had been punished for some unacceptable behaviour and he was told to stay in his room until I told him he would be able to come out.  He’s 8.  I told him he had to write an apology letter to the person he had hurt that day and then gave him the responsibility of making his bed, tidying up his toys and cleaning out all his drawers.  That took him all of 30 minutes.  He then told me he was bored.  “Good” I thought to myself.  Now it was time to reflect on his actions.  About an hour had  passed by and it was extremely quiet upstairs so I thought I would go and check on him.  I couldn’t believe what I found him doing…

Planks.  My eight year old son was doing push-ups and planks.  He had resorted to exercise because he was bored and couldn’t think of anything else to do.  I was shocked yet so proud at the same time, I couldn’t help myself from smiling.  Would I have been happy if I found him reading instead?  Of course!  But truth be told…I couldn’t have been happier at that moment.  Witnessing my son exercising in his room (and let me add that it is not the first time for him or my daughter) proved to me that my children are watching me.  They see how hard I work at exercise and nutrition and taking care of myself and that has filtered in to their life.  They see the importance of it at such a young age and that makes me happy.  It has become a part of their lives as well as mine.

Good job Julian!!  Keep up the good work.

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

