Happy Valentine’s Day

14 Feb

A Moment of Reflection

It was a crazy busy time for me this past weekend which is not out of the ordinary.  I am a single mother of two so “busy” is my middle name.  Between hockey practices and games for my son and dance classes for my daughter, and the usual play dates and birthday parties, the weekends are anything but boring.  What was out of the ordinary this past weekend however, was sitting on the couch with my two children this past Sunday evening as we watched the Grammy’s.  Just sitting there (okay, yes, I was folding laundry) but I wasn’t on my computer, iPad or iPhone or in the kitchen being distracted.  My son wasn’t on his iPad and my daughter wasn’t off somewhere colouring or reading a book.  We were sitting there, together, enjoying the moment.  And it struck me…as I stared at the two extensions of me that I was blessed to bring in to this world…just how much my children have grown.

This is Julian and Isabella in Italy back in 2006.  Julian was 3 years old and Isabella 13 months…

A little less than a year ago, my children received news that would change their lives forever.  Their father and I sat them down to explain to them that we were separating because we could no longer live happily together.  It was by far, the most difficult day of my life.  I wasn’t sure how the news would affect them, both in the short-term and the long-term, and as a parent, I feared I was hurting them beyond repair – even though I knew we were doing the right thing.  I still believe we did the right thing.  But time heals.  I have learned that with many things in life.  Today, my children are not only happy, they are thriving and on so many levels.  My children received their report cards last week and to say they both made me proud would be an understatement.  Their grades were above expectation.  But that was just the beginning of such an amazing weekend.

Julian’s hockey team is in the middle of playoff season.  We won both games this past weekend but more importantly for me as a hockey mom, is that my son scored a goal in each game (and even assisted a goal)!!  He has come a long way in this sport and I love watching him play…even in the bitter cold early Saturday mornings like the one that just passed.


Isabella spent the day skiing for the first time with her dad on Sunday.  I was worried about her being on skis and me not being there (typical overprotective mother response) but when I saw this pic that her father sent me to tell me she’s a natural,  I was in tears!!  She even learned how to skate on her own for the first time this winter.

What a year it’s been.  They have grown so much.  Both physically and emotionally.  I wish I took more time out of my busy schedule to just sit back, relax and enjoy the moment like I did this past Sunday evening.  Time doesn’t stand still for anyone and it seems to pass by so much quicker as we get older.  We need to slow down and take time to appreciate the ones we love and remind them just how much we love them.  Everyone needs to know that there is someone out there who loves them and especially on a day like today, would love to hear it.  So even though my kids are spoiled with the amount of love they receive from the wonderful friends and family that surround our lives, I want them to know that no one loves them more than Mommy.  Happy Valentine’s Day to the two loves of my life!!!

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of YOU!!

Love Lisa
xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

