March Break

13 Mar

It’s March Break and if your household is anything like mine, there is a lot of “what are we doing today?”, “can we go to so and so’s house?”, “Mom, I am bored”, “what are we doing tomorrow?”.  Any of that sound familiar to you?  And that was just today!!  I took the day off work to stay home with them.  We invited their cousins over for lunch and then all went to watch The Lorax.  I later took my kids to Chapters and Starbucks where we relaxed and did a little bit of reading while I attempted to enjoy my soy latte and the kids sipped on their over-priced soy frappuccinos.  On our way home I was even asked if we were going to do anything that evening!!  Seriously?  Is it never enough?  Would it be wrong of me to admit that I am actually looking forward to going back to work tomorrow?

I remember when I was in elementary school on March Break.  All that meant for us growing up was that we had a week off school and were going to spend the day at Nonna’s house (my grandmother) watching t.v. programs as long as they didn’t interfere with her viewing of The Young and The Restless.  And that was it!!  No play dates, no movie dates with our friends and/or cousins, no iPod, iPad, Nintendo DS, XBox or anything remotely close to the options our kids have to choose from today.  My, how times have changed.  There seems to be this pressure of making sure we have the week planned out to ensure our kids don’t get “bored”.  What are we so afraid of?  That our kids might get stuck in front of the television for a couple of hours?  What’s the big deal?  I think we have tried so  desperately to ensure our children don’t watch too much t.v. that we have put this pressure upon ourselves to fill their time with other things that will keep them busy.  You know what…I think they could use a little down time in front of the tube!  Some parents may be reading this shaking their heads and wanting to tell me all the reasons why t.v. is so bad for our children but you know what?  I think a little bit of television is actually good for them.  The key is balance.  Balance in everything in life is what is important.  That is what my whole blog site is about.  The balance between healthy eating and exercising.  The balance between discipline and allowing yourself to give in every once in a while to have a “treat”.  The same philosophy holds true for kids!

If we constantly teach our children that their days are going to be filled with fun and exciting activities and that every hour of the day is going to be planned well guess what?   That is what they will come to expect.  They won’t know what to do with themselves if they have an hour that hasn’t been planned for them.  I don’t know about you but I just can’t deal with that much stress in my life.  Actually let me re-phrase that…I CHOOSE not to deal with that kind of stress in my life.

My kids are reminded every day that anything they are given is a blessing and something for which they should be grateful.  I want my kids to learn how to appreciate things in life and not to grow up with some sense of entitlement that I see in a lot of young people these days.  I can only hope that I am doing a good job.  Only time will tell…

Until next time, I hope you all enjoy your March Break…whatever it is that you are doing with it!

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

