Happy Birthday Baby Girl

13 Jun

Today is my daughter’s 7th birthday and just like the day I gave birth, I am in denial.  I can’t believe how much she has grown.  I still remember the day like it was yesterday…

I woke up early that morning because I was feeling a little uncomfortable and had some cramps but more importantly, I was getting prepared for our day at Marineland.  Julian was fascinated with fish and his father and I had promised him a trip to Marineland before the baby was to arrive so I was getting our cooler ready and making sure everything was in order before we were to head out.  We had a great day.  I had felt some cramping during the day but chalked it up to heat and exhaustion.  My due date wasn’t until mid-July so there was no cause for concern in my mind.  By dinner time that evening, while I was helping my sister, Tonia, set the table at my godmother’s house, I was feeling some more cramping.  I kept thinking it was just discomfort from all the walking I had done that day but the rest of the family members that were there were convinced it was something more.  My godmother forced me to call the hospital and explain my symptoms and the nurse who answered the call  advised me to come in to the hospital to get checked out since it was my second pregnancy.  So I sent Julian off with my parents and Tonia drove me to the hospital.  The “cramping” was becoming more frequent and within minutes of being in the car Tonia told me I was definitely having contractions because these “cramps” I was complaining about had been coming every 4 minutes!!  I laughed it off and told her it was too soon.  Baby wasn’t ready yet.  She told me to call my then-husband and tell him we were on our way to the hospital but I didn’t want to bother him because I knew he was working at home and figured I would be going home right after they checked me out.  It’s a good thing Tonia took the phone and told him to grab the baby bag and get his butt over to the hospital.  We arrived at the hospital shortly after 7pm and everything after that seemed to happen in fast forward.  Nurses told me I was definitely in active labour.  They broke my water and with that contraction the reality set in (FINALLY!).  They gave me an epidural and a few hours later, after just a couple of pushes, Isabella Rose Assaf was born at 1:20 am on June 13, 2005.  She weighed 6 lbs 2 oz.

It was the second happiest day of my life (the first being Julian’s birth).  I had my little princess. (I wish I had pictures to post of when she was a baby but I am still waiting to get that CD of pics from their dad).  Here are some pics of Isabella from the age of 3 until the present…

My baby girl has grown into a beautiful, spirited, strong-willed little girl who, more often than I like to admit, tests my patience.  She is a true gemini in every way and I never know which mood she will be in when she wakes up in the morning or when I get home from work.  She knows how to push my buttons and make me question all the parenting techniques I used on the firstborn which seemed to work out just fine on him!!!  She knows how to get what she wants and although that drives me nuts as a parent, it’s only one of the many qualities she possesses that will be admired as she grows into womanhood.  She is a tough cookie.  She will be able to stand on her own two feet without fear or hesitation.  She knows how to show love and can be quite affectionate when she wants to be.  I watch her sometimes while she’s flipping cartwheels or doing bridge walkovers all over the house and I smile.  I see how she manipulates her brother one day and then does something so sweet the next because that is what she felt like doing at that moment…not because it was expected of her but because she wanted to do it.  I kinda love that about her.  She’s a leader, not a follower.  These are all important characteristics that will carry her throughout her life.  Characteristics which will make her the amazing, beautiful and successful woman she is meant to become.  I smile.  I am proud.  I feel blessed.

Happy Birthday to my little princess.  No matter how old you get, you will always be my baby girl.  Mommy loves you more than the world…

Lisa

One Response to “Happy Birthday Baby Girl”

  1. Courtney Morabito June 13, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Happy Birthday Isabella!
    What a beautiful ode to Isabella, you should print it out and keep it with her baby book : )
    Thank you for sharing Lisa, you are so lovely!

Leave a Reply

