Fifty Shades…Oh My!!!

11 Jul

I know this blog site is about nutrition and fitness, but I just didn’t feel I would be doing my readers any justice if I didn’t mention all the hype surrounding the Fifty Shades trilogy.  Everyone…and I mean EVERY ONE I know is talking about it.  Men and women alike.  For those of you who know me personally know that I am all about trends.  There are very few “trends” that come my way that I am not tempted to try in one form or another…and this wasn’t going to be one trend that I missed!!  And boy am I glad I didn’t!!!

I ordered the trilogy of books back in May when I heard about it from my best friend who had just ordered it herself but hadn’t started reading it yet.  We heard it was an erotic novel that involved more than your run-of-the-mill romance  (no kidding) but I honestly didn’t know what to expect.  So I picked up the first book one evening, after I had put the kids to bed and started reading.  The next morning I kept reading because I hadn’t finished the chapter from the previous night before I fell asleep (it’s not because the book wasn’t interesting cause believe me it was.  I just can’t ever stay awake past midnight on a weeknight when I am getting up at 530 each morning to workout!).  And later that night, I couldn’t wait to get the kids to bed so I could continue learning more about the fascinating Christian Grey.  So it began…every day at some point or other, I just had to get in some reading time, even it was only for 10 minutes.  I even brought the book to the gym with me a couple of times while riding the stationary bike and getting my heart rate up to levels that could be considered dangerous!! Lol (I still don’t know if it was because I was pushing too hard on the bike or if it was more about the contents of the book…or just a combination of the two!) 

I have heard about women reading all 3 books in a matter of a week or so and I can see why, although, for me, it took a little over a month to get through all of them.  I finally finished Fifty Shades Freed this past Sunday and dropped it off at my cousin’s place so she could get started on it!  I can honestly say I enjoyed EVERY SINGLE moment I spent reading each and every one of those books.  Personally, the second book Fifty Shades Darker, is my favourite and probably because of how much changes from the beginning of that book to the end.  I love the author’s writing style and her approach to each of the characters, especially being able to be in Anastasia’s mind.  I don’t feel the book would have been nearly as good nor could it have felt as intimate if it weren’t written in the first person.  E.L. James (the author) brought such depth to the characters and oh so much detail (sigh)…that…well…uhhhh…I still sigh every time I think about it!

“Oh My!”  and “Laters, Baby”  have become the most common catch phrases between me and my girlfriends these days it’s kinda hard not to smile every time I think about it.  And that is probably one of the main reasons I loved these books (I didn’t say ONLY reason ladies *wink*).  It made me smile.  It made me giggle and it made me laugh out loud…A LOT!  And boy oh boy did it ever make me squirm!!  I will spare the details.  For those of you who have read it, you know EXACTLY what I am talking about and for those of you who haven’t…what the heck are you waiting FOR??!?!?!?

For those of you who aren’t into reading, you may be in luck since they are well under way with the makings of a Fifty Shades movie trilogy.  I already know it won’t be as good as the book but it’s going to be a huge hit, regardless.  All those who read the book are going to be curious to find out how the movie plays out and those who didn’t read the book are going to be just curious…PERIOD!  The producers who produced “The Social Network” have picked up the rights to the movie.  Now it’s just a matter of time.  But first things first…who is going to play the young, beautiful, erotic entrepreneur that is Christian Grey and whoever will fill the role of sweet and innocent University student Anastasia Steele?  I am curious to know what you think.  Below are my picks.  Let me know your thoughts and I would love to hear your reviews of the books.  Send me your comments and take the polls!

Until next time…

Laters!

 

http://blog.eljamesauthor.com/?p=358

3 Responses to “Fifty Shades…Oh My!!!”

  1. Jen Henriques July 11, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Lisa you said it perfectly. I am relieved that I am not the only one who couldn’t get enough of this novel. I could read them over and over. Lol

  2. Alessia Ottaviani July 11, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Agreed! Agreed! Agreed!!! I absolutely LOVE this trilogy. I am just finishing up the third book and seriously i have never wanted to read so badly in my life until i picked up Fifty Shades. So excited and curious for the movie – although you said it perfectly, it wont be nearly as good as the book. Thankfully im not the only nutcase who became addicted to it!! Oh how i love this book (sigh).

  3. GymRat July 13, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    I don’t understand, are we supposed to eat the book? or lift the book?

Leave a Reply

