Quinoa Burgers

15 Aug

One of the main questions I get asked from people when they find out that I don’t eat meat is “where do you get your protein from?”  There are many sources of protein and one of my personal favourites is quinoa.  I am amazed at how many individuals have never even heard of this grain since it’s a staple in my house!!!  On that note, I decided to post yet another quinoa recipe for those who have requested some interesting recipes incorporating this full protein grain.  I got this recipe from BodyRock TV.
I think I am in the mood for a burger tonight 😉

Ingredients:
2 cups of cooked quinoa
1/4 cup of finely minced sweet bell pepper
1/4 cup of finely minced onion
1 tsp of cumin powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp of ground pepper
1 TBS of dried parsley
1 whole egg +2 egg whites beaten

Method:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.
In a large mixing bowl mix quinoa, pepper, onion, spices, salt, and
pepper.  Then mix in beaten eggs.  Shape quinoa mixture into thin
patties about 1/4″ thick and place onto parchment paper lined baking
sheet. This is key. If the patties are too thick they will not cook
through and be mushy.
Bake for 30 minutes until crisp and browned.

BodyRocker Meal of the Day: By Brooklynn!!

"Hi BodyRock Team! I wanted to share one of my favorite quinoa recipes
with the BR family today.
One of my favorite meat-less dinners is quinoa burgers. They are
simple to make and very filling. This recipe was originally featured
on my blog The Lean Gourmet Kitchen www.theleangourmet.blogspot.com. I
adapted a gluten free diet last summer and soon found that gluten free
eating is not always clean. After my change in diet I began developing
several clean AND gluten free recipes that I tested out on friends and
family. I kept hearing how good the food was so I started my blog to
share my kitchen creations with others. My recipes are an example that
illustrates healthy food and eating clean does not mean sacrificing
taste. Enjoy!
Brooklynn

Quinoa Burgers

2 cups of cooked quinoa
1/4 cup of finely minced sweet bell pepper
1/4 cup of finely minced onion
1 tsp of cumin powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp of ground pepper
1 TBS of dried parsley
1 whole egg +2 egg whites beaten

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.
In a large mixing bowl mix quinoa, pepper, onion, spices, salt, and
pepper. Then mix in beaten eggs. Shape quinoa mixture into thin
patties about 1/4" thick and place onto parchment paper lined baking
sheet. This is key. If the patties are too thick they will not cook
through and be mushy. Bake for 30 minutes until crisp and browned. We
have our burgers on lettuce "buns" since we follow a gluten free diet,
but you could put have them on top of a salad or a whole grain burger
bun."
Enjoy!!
Have a fit and fabulous day.
Lisa
One Response to “Quinoa Burgers”

  1. trialsinfood August 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    looks good! love quinoa!

Leave a Reply

