Why Women Should Not Be Afraid of Gaining Muscle Mass

7 Sep

I have, for a very long time, been an advocate of the Tracy Anderson Method (www.tracyandersonmethod.com) which promotes lean, sexy body images without the look of being muscular, through repetitive motions using your own body weight.  Now although I still think Tracy’s method is amazing and it truly does work, let’s face it, I just don’t have the time to spend 1-2 hours every day working out (although I wish I did!) and the reality is that probably most of you don’t either.  So in my quest to change things up I stumbled across http://www.BodyRockTv.com and am now addicted to the 12-minute interval trainings I have been doing every day that leave me breathless and invigorated.  But since I give myself and hour at the gym, that leaves me with another 45 minutes to fill!  So what to do with those 45 minutes?  Some of you may be saying, pack it up and go home!  lol…but seriously, when you make the effort to get to a gym, you don’t want to just be there for 15 minutes.  Doesn’t seem worth it, now does it?  So I am in the process of developing a new routine for myself, one that involves incorporating weight bearing exercises, cardio and yoga mixed in, of course, with my daily body rocking exercises (not all on the same day of course).

As I get older, and the longer I have been in the fitness industry, the more I have been exposed to various forms of exercise and figuring out what works and what doesn’t.  And believe me, what works for one does not work for all.  And what may have worked for you ten years ago may not necessarily work for you today.  Lives change, bodies change, and let’s face it, our level of focus and determination change from time to time as well and we need to make the proper adjustments to make sure we are always getting the most out of our workouts.  At this stage in my life, I only have – or should I say “give”…I only GIVE myself an hour each morning to devote to the gym.  Any more than that, for me, is a bonus!  During that hour, I wanna sweat.  I wanna feel my heart pumping out of my chest.  I want to be exhausted at the end of it all.  I want to see definition.  Not bulk, but definition.  And that leads me to why I posted this blog today.  For probably the past decade, I have avoided weight machines like the plague.  I have been that girl that says “I don’t want to bulk up, I just want to tone”.  I am still not a fan of those static weight machines that you see lined up in the gym but I am now beginning to embrace not only the free weights and medicine balls, but I am now using barbells and pulleys that allow me to resist more than just my own body weight.  And hello squats and walking lunges with weights!  The fire I feel in my legs when doing those is unreal!  You may be asking why, after all this time, I am returning to using weight bearing exercises, well, because it’s good for you, that’s why!  And because it will help my body look slimmer and make me feel better in my clothes.  And because it will make me not only stronger but healthier.  And if you don’t believe me, here’s just one article out of many that may convince women why you SHOULD be trying to gain more muscle mass in your bodies!

http://www.charlespoliquin.com/ArticlesMultimedia/Articles/Article/909/Why_Women_Should_Not_Be_Afraid_of_Gaining_Muscle_M.aspx

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

One Response to “Why Women Should Not Be Afraid of Gaining Muscle Mass”

  1. Idell September 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I like the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great posts.

Leave a Reply

