I just had a conversation with my idol…

2 Oct

“Everything happens for a reason.”

“Timing is everything.”

“You only regret the things in life that you don’t do.”

These are all catch phrases I live by.  Words of wisdom I pass on to my children and practically anyone around me who will listen.  Well today, all three of them proved true for me!

My wonderful co-worker and dear friend, Tanya,  invited me out for lunch today to a wonderful little place in Mississauga called Pane e Vino.  She has told me about this place many times and how healthy it is and that I can still stick to my clean eating by eating there.  So today, finally, I agreed to go.  As I stood in the lineup to choose my healthy and delicious clean salad, who is standing right next to me?  TOSCA RENO!!!!  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  I looked over and did a double take and then found myself saying hello to her and telling her what a huge fan I am of her (yes, I admit…I got a little star struck).  She so graciously said hello with her beautiful smile and thanked me and as her salad was ready she walked over to her table but not before putting her hand on my shoulder and telling me to enjoy my meal.  I felt like a little kid I was so giddy :).

Throughout lunch, as my girlfriend and I sat only a few tables away from Tosca, I kept pondering the idea of going over there and giving her my business card and telling her what an inspiration she has been to me over the past few years.  I kept telling myself that I would regret it if I didn’t.  But I didn’t have the guts.  Luckily for me, my girlfriend does 😉  (thanks Tanya!!).  She kept pushing me to go over there and introduce myself.  Those three catch phrases kept running in my head over and over again.  I mean seriously?  What are the chances that I would run into my idol over lunch out in Mississauga when she’s been flying all over the continent doing promos and running businesses and training for her upcoming competition?  So I finally got the courage to just get up and do it.  And I am so thankful that I did.  We had a wonderful conversation.  She asked me my name and introduced me to her lunch date, we talked about work and training and eating and she shared how tired she has been feeling with all the intense training she has been doing leading up to her competition which is next week.  She is committing 2 hours a day to the gym and for a gym rat like me, that is definitely something to be admired!! She even asked me if I have ever competed (which I have not) but just her asking me the question woke up something inside me.  Who knows…maybe I will make it my goal to do so before I turn 40.  I thanked her for her time, gave her my business card and told her that it was because of her inspiration that I started this blog page.  She again thanked me and told me she would check out my blog page.

I don’t know if she’ll visit my website (although something about her genuine character tells me that she will) and I don’t know if she will ever know how much influence she and her wonderful books have made on my life and on the lives of my children (if she reads my blogs she will though 😉 ).  What I do know, however, is that I will never forget today.  I will look back on this day in years to come and use it as an example to teach people to do things that scare you.  To some this may sound ridiculous, but the thought of going up to her table and giving her my business card just seemed too much for me.  I didn’t think I had the guts.  I was too shy.  Too nervous.  But with a little push (okay, Tanya, yes A LOT of pushing) I did it!!  And who knows what may come of it?  This could just be the beginning of a dream come true for me in the fitness/health industry.  You just never know.  But this I know for sure…

“Everything happens for a reason.”

“Timing is everything.”

“You only regret the things in life that you don’t do.”

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

3 Responses to “I just had a conversation with my idol…”

  1. Tanya October 2, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Pushing, coaxing…you don’t want to know what I would have done next had you not gotten up. 🙂 Let’s just say the experience may have been a little on the embarrassing side.

    • Lisa Pisano October 2, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      I knew you wouldn’t let me leave there without talking to her so let’s just say I am soooo glad I got up when I did.
      P.S. – when are we going back to Pane e Vino? It’s on me next time cause I OWE YOU BIG TIME!! 😉

  2. Ernestina October 3, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

