Training for my 10km “Phantom” Race

16 Oct

So the time has come again where I need a new challenge (yes…I get bored very easily with my workouts!!) so I decided I am going to train AS IF I were competing in a 10km race.  I am not actually competing in any particular race, I am just training as if I am.  Why?  You ask.  Well, there is a very good reason and let me make it clear that this is NOT an excuse cause you should all know me well enough by now to know that I don’t believe in excuses.  This is a very valid reason why, for the moment, I have decided to not register in any 10km challenge.  I have hip and knee issues (arthritis in those joints to be more specific) and anyone who suffers from any sort of inflammatory ailment knows how painful it can be.  Exercises that involve any sort of impact can increase this pain.  Running is considered a high impact activity.  For me, running outdoors seems to cause me more pain than running on a treadmill.  And not just any treadmill…there is a specific one at my gym that I can run on that doesn’t seem to affect the pain I normally would feel in my hips and knees after a long run outdoors.  Sooo, having said that…I will be doing all of my training on this wonderful REEBOK treadmill that I use almost every morning at my local GoodLife gym.  And for this reason, I have not signed up for an outdoor race just in case the pain in my joints gets worse.  I am motivated and determined but not to the point where I want to cause any more damage to my body and I definitely don’t want to run the risk of any injuries.  If the pain gets too intense I will have to re-set my goals.  So here I am, tricking my body to believe that I am preparing for a race.  I have my trainer in hand (thank GOD for iPhone apps!!) and am ready to go.  I will keep you all posted on my progress as I continue on this exciting journey which began for me just yesterday.  I am continuing with my BodyRock training as well because the workouts are quick and challenging and providing me with results so why would I want to stop?? lol

I invite your comments and your support in helping me reach my goal of being able to complete a 10km run.  I have made my phantom race date the beginning of February.  No reason in particular, other than a lot of the apps I researched suggested I give myself approximately 16 weeks to train properly.  And it doesn’t hurt that I am going away in February so all this training will come to fruition just in time for me to put on a bikini!!! 🙂

Wish me luck!!

Until next time,

Lisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

