Working out at Higher Intensity

14 Dec

I have known this for a long time and just assumed others did too until I spoke with some other gym members recently who complained about spending 2 hours a day almost EVERY day at the gym and not seeing results!  Well no kidding!!  Your body needs time to recover.  I have said this before.  But maybe the message I should be getting out there is not only about the importance of muscle recovery but about knowing that it’s not about how long you workout  but about how HARD you push yourself.  I can tell you, without a doubt, that I can get my heart rate up higher and sweat a lot more after a 15-minute BodyRock circuit training session than I can running on the treadmill for a half hour!  Unless you are a high-performing athlete or training for the olympics, there is no reason why you need to be spending 2 hours at the gym.  You’re just going to tire yourself out.  My motto…get in and get out.  I can usually fit my intense training workouts at the gym in just under an hour and that includes my 20-30 minutes of cardio.  Are they effective?  Hell YES!  I make sure they are.  I challenge myself.  Every minute I am at the gym is time well spent.  And trust me, I suffer the muscle soreness to prove it.  I don’t have time to waste.  I look around at those individuals who are there before me (yes…before 530 am!!) and are still there after I head out the doors and I think to myself it must be nice to have all that time to workout.  But truth be told, I don’t need that much time and let’s face it, most of us don’t have that much time to spare!  And the good news is…you don’t even need all that time.  So for those of you who say you don’t have enough time to workout…I am hitting the BS button on that one…cause anybody can find 15 minutes in their day.  Yes…ANYONE!  And 15 minutes at a high intensity at least 3-5 days a week will definitely get you towards reaching any goals related to weight loss and more muscle definition (assuming, of course, your diet is in check).

And if what I just said isn’t enough to convince you, read this article about how working out at higher intensity increases the amount of calories burned after working out.  Apparently I am on to something cause I am burning a higher amount of calories than a lot of my fellow gym goers by just sitting here typing this blog 🙂

http://www.everydayhealth.com/fitness/does-exercising-have-an-afterburn-effect.aspx?xid=tw_everydayhealth_20111202_afterburn

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

One Response to “Working out at Higher Intensity”

  1. itworks body wrapsreviews January 2, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your
    post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content
    for you personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

