Yoga for Athletes

24 Jan

I know what you’re thinking.  Another blog about the benefits of yoga!  I can’t help it.  I am a devoted yogi.  I have experienced, first hand, the incredible benefits that yoga brings not only physically but emotionally and spiritually as well.  But I am not trying to fool anyone here.  I am not the barefoot walking, braided hair, hippy-type yogi that you’ll find chanting to herself in the middle of the day.  Not that there is anything wrong with that, but that is jut not who I am.  I am also, and always have been, a hard core gym rat.  Working up a sweat in the gym and making my heart beat so fast that it feels like it’s going to pop out of my chest gives me a rush like nothing else can.  What I have found though, is that after an excruciating day at the gym…you know the kind where just squatting to go to the washroom the next day or lifting up your arm to blow dry your hair makes you feel like you’re going to die – a good hour of deep stretching in a yoga class makes me feel better.  It loosens up all the tight muscles and joints and actually makes the pain just a little less painful.

Check out this article below that talks about the benefits of yoga for athletes and offers some yoga moves that you can do in the comfort of your own home to help with your workouts before and after.

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/fitness/yoga-everyday-routine?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-WomensHealth-_-content-fitness-_-YogaforAthletes

Until next time, have a fit and fabulous day!

Namaste,

Lisa

Leave a Reply

