Baked Chicken with Basil & Tomatoes

22 Feb

Okay, so the other night I took out some chicken breasts to feed the family.  Now you know I don’t eat chicken, but that doesn’t mean I don’t cook it for my family once in a while (there’s only so much fish, quinoa and beans they’ll eat!!)  So, I washed the chicken breasts, put them in a baking dish and tried to figure out what to do with them (it’s been a while since I’ve cooked chicken).  Suddenly, I felt inspired and put together this creation.  I didn’t think anything of it until my sister came over and smelt what was in the oven and said she couldn’t wait to eat it!  She then told me I should blog the recipe but the problem was I just put together a bunch of ingredients without measuring anything so I wasn’t sure what I was going to put on paper.  So bare with me folks cause the measurements are an estimate…when you have a passion for cooking like I do you just tend to throw ingredients together using your eye for measurement.

Oh and how do I know it’s so yummy if I don’t eat chicken? Well easy…I substituted fish for my portion instead of chicken.  So you know that this recipe will work for not only chicken but salmon or any white  fillet-type fish.

Ingredients:

6 chicken breasts
1/2 cup Lemon juice
1/2 cup homemade basil puree (see below)
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
paprika (sprinkle over each breast/fillet enough to cover completely)
6 garlic cloves, crushed
1 cup cherry tomatoes (halved)
1 onion (sliced)
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup water
salt & pepper to taste is optional

Homemade Basil Puree:

10 leaves fresh basil
1 clove garlic
2 tbsp olive oil
Blend all ingredients together in a blender/food processor

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Place water, lemon juice and olive oil in a baking dish.  Slice the onions and put garlic through garlic press, and spread on to baking dish.  Place chicken in baking dish (or fish if that is what you’re using).  Sprinkle paprika over each piece and then add basil puree.  Add the tomatoes and then splash with the red wine vinegar.  You can add salt & pepper to taste if necessary.

Cover with foil paper and place in the oven.  Bake for approximately 45 minutes for chicken (depending on the thickness) and only 10-20 minutes for fish, again depending on the type and thickness of fish.  To check if the meat is cooked, simply put a fork in it.  Chicken should show no pink and fish should flake at the touch of the fork.

Enjoy!!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

