I taught my first fitness class!!

27 Feb

So last week, my sister and I went to the gym for our weekly morning Zumba class.  We waited patiently for the instructor to arrive but she wasn’t showing up.  I told my sister that I was going to the bathroom and when I returned, if the instructor wasn’t there, we were hitting the cardio machines.  WELL…by the time I got back, my wonderful baby sister had informed all of the women in the class that I am a personal trainer and health enthusiast and had nominated me to lead the class!!!  I was absolutely mortified!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Let me make it clear to all of you who may be thinking what’s the big deal?  There’s a BIG difference between being a personal trainer and being a fitness instructor.  I am used to working one-on-one.  I don’t teach classes with a dozen or so people watching me jump up and down on a platform/stage (whatever you want to call it!)  If I didn’t love my sister so much I probably would have told her where to go, right there in front of everyone!  But something happened…

I looked at these women who were desperate to just do some exercise.  They didn’t seem to care if it was going to be Zumba or just some cardio session that got their heart rates pumping.  They just wanted to hear some music and move.  I looked at these women and realized that I couldn’t let them down.  While I stood there facing all these women with anxious looks on their faces wondering what I was going to do I simply told myself that this would be my opportunity to shine.  This was my chance to show others what I am capable of.  I had to conquer my fear and just go for it.  So I did!!  My heart was pumping so fast I thought it was going to beat out of my chest but I grabbed my ipod, connected it to the speakers and hit play on my workout playlist and just started.  I did some cardio moves and mixed in a little bit of what I could remember from the Zumba classes I have taken and then incorporated some lower body resistance work and then some core exercises.  I ended it with a 5-minute cool down to some Bon Jovi music and by then I felt like I was at home.

Before I knew it, I had managed to teach a 45-minute aerobics class to a room full of women.  They seemed grateful.  They thanked me and told me I did a great job.  They may have just been trying to make me feel good but I think I did okay.  They were sweating and seemed tired after the class which must be a good sign and my sister said her legs were killing her the next day so that’s a good sign ;).  I saw a couple of them in yesterday’s Zumba class and they came up to me again thanking me for teaching the class last week.  It put a smile on my face.

I always offer advice to others about getting out of their comfort zone but I didn’t realize how difficult it can be until I was put in that position.  Thank you again Tonia for pushing me out of my comfort zone and allowing me to take advantage of an opportunity I would have otherwise passed up – for allowing me to see that I am capable of more than I give myself credit.  I know now more than ever that I will succeed…I choose not to fail and not to give up so success is my only option.  I love you…just please don’t ever do that again!!! lol

IMG_1175

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!!

Lisa

2 Responses to “I taught my first fitness class!!”

  1. Vanna February 27, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Congrats! That sounds like a really fun experience and it was so sweet of you to step up and not let those girls down!

Leave a Reply

