Meatless Monday Recipe – Quinoa with Roasted Red Peppers and Rapini

8 Apr

On Easter Sunday last week, I had to think of something delicious and creative to eat while everyone around me was eating lasagna and barbeque lamb!!  I am pretty disciplined and don’t get tempted to eat meat but let me tell you…it’s REALLY hard when your mom makes the best lasagna in town and you have that BBQ aroma filling up the house!!  I am human you know!!  So I knew I would have to make something really yummy to fill up and keep me away from temptation.  Sooo…I went to my go-to protein fix – QUINOA!!  But I tried something different this time.  My mom had some roasted red peppers on the table and was making rapini so I figured I would incorporate those in to my quinoa and this is what I made (sorry…I should have taken a picture to share :()

Serves 4-6 people (depending on whether you use this as your main or a side dish)

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa
1 red pepper roasted
1 bunch rapini
2 shallots, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp coconut oil
salt and pepper as needed

Instructions:

1.  Cook quinoa according to package directions.  Remember to always rinse quinoa before cooking.  Once cooked, set aside.  Quinoa expands during cooking so your one cup will turn in to a lot more at the end.  Don’t be tempted to make more quinoa unless you want to keep it separate for later use (which I did and turned in to a salad later that week).

2.  Roast red pepper on BBQ.  Make sure the skin is burnt so that once cooled, you can easily peel it off.  Let cool and then strip into pieces to be added to mixture later.

3.  Use a pot large enough to hold the rapini.  Fill it up 3/4 with water and bring to a boil.  Add a tsp of sea salt.  Trim the ends of the rapini and rinse.  Once the water is boiling, place the rapini in the pot.  Bring to another boil and cook for approximately 3-5 minutes.  Rapini tend to taste bitter when cooked for too long.  Drain in colander and let cool.

3.  In a large skilet, saute shallots and garlic in coconut oil for a few minutes until translucent.  Add the rapini and red peppers and saute for just a few minutes.  Add the quinoa and mix together and VOILA!  You’re done.

Word of warning…this dish is so tasty that you’ll be tempted to eat more than your share.  But remember, even though quinoa is very healthy for you, it’s also high in calories so don’t over indulge.  I used this as my main dish and then added a kale salad and some other green vegetables and was more than satisfied!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

One Response to “Meatless Monday Recipe – Quinoa with Roasted Red Peppers and Rapini”

  1. master cleanse secrets April 15, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

