My Detox is Done!

12 Apr

Another detox bites the dust!   I feel clean and lean and ready for Spring…if it ever wants to get here!

I must admit, this must have been the easiest 12 days of detox I have ever done.  I must have timed it right because there weren’t any special occasions or gatherings surrounded by food that would have normally tempted me to stray off course.  I did it just after Easter and before my daughter’s communion, so there were no excuses.  I feel good.  I could really feel it working this time.  That’s probably because I wasn’t eating so clean before I started :o.  But I am back on track now and ready to continue staying the course of my eat clean diet.

I am a strong proponent of cleanses.  When done correctly, they are a good way of ridding the body of toxins.  And when I say cleanse, I don’t mean diet.  I am not talking about those 2-day juice diets or any of those rapid weight-loss regimens that promise to help you lose 20 pounds in 2 weeks.  These regimens will definitely make you lose weight but they will also slow down your metabolism which only means the pounds will creep back up eventually.  Do your research before attempting a cleanse.  Make sure you choose one that allows you to continue regular meals although you will need to be prepared to eliminate a lot of  the usual foods that may be part of your daily diet such as dairy, red meat, sugars and processed foods.  Most effective cleanses can last anywhere from 1-2 weeks.  The one I just completed was 12 days.

I usually do my cleanses twice a year.  Once in the spring and again in the fall.  I find this works for me.  Others may feel they may need less, others more.  It’s a personal choice.  But my advice – if you’ve never done one – you should try it!!  It feels good to be clean 🙂

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

2 Responses to “My Detox is Done!”

  1. alison April 12, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    sounds great Lisa – what kind of a cleanse did you do?

Leave a Reply

