Working through my emotions…with yoga

16 Apr

I took my first class today at Stratusphere Yoga.  Class was good.  Not great, but good.  The reason it wasn’t a great class had absolutely nothing to do with the teacher and everything to do with me.  Part of it had to do with the fact that I spent an hour and a half at the gym this morning working my legs and then enjoying a zumba class, so to say I was a little tired is an understatement.  But I don’t think that is the reason.  I woke up this morning feeling much like the weather.  Just blah.  There’s a lot going on right now and although I don’t like to complain because I know my “issues” are nothing compared to the real problems many people around me are dealing with, some times it just gets the better of me.  Between trying to get my son ready for hockey rep tryouts, preparing for my daughter’s communion, registering both kids for their new school in the upcoming year, preparing for my yoga teacher training, and preparing for our upcoming residential move, the stress has finally caught up with me.

So as tired as I was after my gym workout this morning, I knew I needed to do yoga today.  Not only because I HAVE to get my 27 personal practice hours in before I complete my teacher training in June but because I know my mind needed it as well.  I needed to release all the tension that was building in my body – and boy was there a lot of tension!  I didn’t feel a single good stretch during my 60-minute practice today.  Everything hurt.  My hamstrings were sore, my butt was sore, my arms were shaking and balance?  I didn’t have any!!  I could barely hold a simple tree pose.  But funny enough, the teacher spoke about stress today and said that the more tension we hold in the body, the more difficult it is for us to hold our poses – no kidding :o.  As he pressed his palms in to my upper back and told me to release, I just couldn’t do it.  It wasn’t happening for me today.  But instead of feeling embarrassed or ashamed that I wasn’t performing my best, I simply listened to my body and embraced what it was telling me.  I worked through each pose as best as I could and didn’t try to over do it as I have been known to do in the past.  I got through the class and I definitely felt much better leaving the class than I did when I first entered.

I also learned something today.  Actually I didn’t just learn it – I was reminded of it.  Your mind dictates everything in your body and everything that surrounds you.  Only you can control what goes on in your mind.  Don’t let it control you.  Be mindful.  Life is short.  Make the most of every day and enjoy it.  Be happy.  Stress can kill you – and in the short term – it debilitates you.  It’s so not worth it.

Here’s to letting the chips fall where they may.  Everything will work out the way it should.

Until next time,

Namaste

Lisa

Leave a Reply

