Meatless Monday Recipe – Pasta with Tuna, Spinach & Artichoke

22 Apr

This fresh and wholesome dish can be easily adapted to suit a variety of audiences.  Sub in brown rice pasta to make it gluten free or try tri-coloured bow ties to give if a fun twist for the kids!  For a vegan version of this recipe, just substitute tofu, edamame, quinoa or beans for the tuna.  Simply cook the pasta and then add all the ingredients together…it can’t get any easier!

8 servings

Pasta with tuna, spinach and artichokes

Ingredients:
12 0z/340 g pasta of your choice
15 oz solid white tuna in water, drained
8 cups fresh baby spinach
1 13-14 oz BPA-free can quartered artichoke hearts in water, drained
1 1/2 cups cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup chopped pepperoncini
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
1 lemon, zested and juice
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp each sea salt & freshly ground black pepper

Preparation:

Bring a large pot of water to boil, add a pinch of sea salt, add the pasta and stir.  Cook according to package directions until al dente.  Drain, reserving 1/4 cup of the cooking water.  Transfer pasta to a large bowl and add remaining ingredients.  Add reserved cooking water, and toss to combine.  Can be served warm, at room temperature or cold.

This dish will keep in the refrigerator for up to two days.  It also travels well, so why not double the recipe and have planned leftovers?

Enjoy!

Source:  The Eat Clean Diet

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

One Response to “Meatless Monday Recipe – Pasta with Tuna, Spinach & Artichoke”

  1. Perla Boily April 22, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    Hi Lisa how are you this morning. I have subscribe to your blog and really enjoying your post and specially the recipes. I love to work out myself I am a mother of 2 boys one just turned 7 and the other is 22 months old. It’s hectic around here but I still count my blessings everyday. The reason of this email is I would like to ask you if you have done Cross Fit MMA? My seven years old will be starting his course in MMA and I was actually thinking of joining the Cross Fit MMA class. Being a stay at home mom and working out from home is not enough and the motivation is going down as well. It’s funny because the first year and a half I had tons of energy and really motivated not until the year started. I still try to work out 4 times a week for at least 45 min 30 min cycling and 15 min doing ab work out but I still don’t have enough energy to get me through the day. While pregnant with my two boys I gained 65 lbs both pregnancy and luckily well with working out I have lost all of it and more but I want to keep going and not stop. Oh the joys of being a women.

    Thank you for sharing your ideas everyday and I hope to hear from you…

    Fan

    Perla Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

