What a Week!!

29 Apr

Sorry folks, if you were looking for a Meatless Monday recipe today, you will be disappointed.  I opened up my page trying to think of what recipe I should post and then realized that the only thing I wanted to share today was the beauty of what has transpired in my life this past week…

Last week was a whirlwind!!  It came and went in the blink of an eye but I captured each important moment and created memories that I will cherish for the rest of my life.  It was a very exciting week for both of my children.

My son Julian, who will be turning 10 this year, got accepted in to a double A hockey team.  He has worked extremely hard over the course of the past season, and it’s obvious that all that extra hard work has paid off.  All he has talked about all season was trying out for rep hockey and I just encouraged him to keep working hard and reminding him that if you truly want something in life, you need to work hard at getting it.  Nothing worth getting comes easy.  Well he has worked hard and wants to continue working hard to prove he can do this and I am so proud of him for it.

I was initially thinking that I should have video taped my son’s reaction when I told him that he had made the team, but the more I think about it, the more I am glad I didn’t.  He and I shared a special moment that night that neither of us will forget for the rest of our lives.  The look on his face while those tears streamed down his little face were absolutely priceless.  It was one of the most special moments he and I shared together and I am grateful that I was able to be the one to give him that news…which so far – according to him – has been the best news he’s received in his life!!!  Congrats Julian…you’re my superstar and I will be there every step of the way to watch you grow and develop as an even better player than you already are. xoxoxo

IMG_3112

IMG_3122[1]

And as if that weren’t enough excitement for one week, my daughter celebrated her First Holy Communion on Saturday. For weeks now we have been preparing for this big event in her life, whether it involved shopping for the clothes to wear or buying the stuff required to make her beautiful bomboniere and centre pieces, or baking cookies, it was just non-stop.  But the day finally arrived on Saturday and we couldn’t have asked for a better day.  Sun was shining, my Izzy was happy and not only did she look like a princess, but she felt like one and that made me happy.  We were surrounded by our loving family and some very special friends (who are like family) and we couldn’t have asked for anything more.

IMG_3177IMG_3102IMG_3181

 

 

What can I say?  What a week!!  I am truly blessed and grateful for what I have and just felt the need to share.

It’ll be back to recipes next week.

Until next time,

Remember to say I love you to those that matter.

Lisa

One Response to “What a Week!!”

  1. Nancy May 1, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    Wow, thank you for sharing. You made me cry (in a good way) lol. Xo

Leave a Reply

