My First Week of Yoga Teacher Training

20 May

When I told people I would be taking my teacher training at Downward Dog Yoga, the response from everyone in my yoga circle was the same:  “You’re gonna love it!!  Some told me it would be a life changing experience and others said I would be receiving training from some of the best teachers around.  None of them were wrong.

To say I was tired by the end of the week would not be a correct reflection of how I was truly feeling by Friday afternoon.  It was a more a combination of exhaustion, exhilaration, excitement, anticipation, and did I already mention, exhausted!?!?  Every muscle in my body ached and as I sat watching the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy on Thursday night with ice packs on various parts of my body, I had to laugh at myself.  I have spent years at the gym and endless hours using different forms of exercises to get my body to look and feel a certain way and after one week of yoga teacher training, I finally understand the importance of getting my body to FUNCTION in a way that is most beneficial to my long-term health and well-being.  The older I get, the more important this becomes to me.  I never knew plank position could be so complicated, but let me tell you…the deep muscles in my core sure do!!!  lol

I caught myself all weekend repeating terminology that we were being taught in class and going over different muscle groups and fascia lines in my head as I tried to remember all the new things I had learned in just one week.  It is definitely overwhelming.  To realize that there is so much more to the body than I had originally been taught.  Did you know there are 4 different muscles in your quadriceps?  Heck!!  I’m a personal trainer and I didn’t even know that!  It’s amazing how much I continue to learn as I open myself up to the information that is out there.  I can’t wait to see what this next week has in store for me.

I have already formed some friendships with my fellow yoga teachers in training and feel we share a bonding experience that will carry us through the rest of our lives.  We are all there with tired, yet eager minds every morning at 7:30 on our mats waiting to learn more about what we need to do to make us great yoga teachers one day just like the ones that are guiding us through this journey.  I plan to take David Bruni’s advice this week though and not give 100% physically every day cause this time I know that by Friday I’ll be out of commission.  I still have another three weeks to go so pacing myself and listening to my body is more important now than ever!!

I hope you all enjoy your Victoria Day holiday.  By the time most of you read this today, I will already be deep within my class with David or Diane Bruni (depending on what time you wake up :)).  I will be posting again and promise to post some great pics!!  Wish me luck as I begin week #2.

Namaste,

Lisa Pisano

One Response to “My First Week of Yoga Teacher Training”

  1. Little Miss Fit May 20, 2013 at 8:27 am #

    Congrats on your first week! Sounds like an absolutely exhausting but thrilling experience so far! Yoga is such a wonderful thing and it’s great that you’re learning so much more about your body through yoga. Good luck to you as you continue with your training!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

