I FINALLY tried it – Aerial Yoga!!

22 Aug

I woke up this morning before 6am so that I could be at my 6:30 Aerial Basics Yoga class for the very first time.  I can’t remember the last time I was this excited for something.  You should all know by now my passion for yoga and my constant need for challenging myself and trying new things.  So this morning – bright and early (well not so bright at 6am) – I did just that.  I tried my first aerial yoga class (for those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about, check out the pic below).  And guess what???  Yup I LOVE it!  It’s amazing to be able to be suspended in the air while attempting to do yoga poses I have been so accustomed to doing on my mat.  The instructor was amazing and given that there was only myself and one other person in the class (I know what you’re thinking – no one else is crazy enough to wake up that early in the morning to go hang on silks suspended from the ceiling) it truly felt like a private session.  I was given different options of various poses and allowed the opportunity to make them more challenging as the class went on.

While I like to consider myself to be a bit adventurous, you’ll probably never see me skydiving or bungee jumping or doing the CN Tower walk. But aerial yoga I can handle.  I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about having my feet off the ground (I like feeling grounded) but this was good.  Just challenging enough.  With a little bit of fear and a whole lot of courage and strength, I managed to get myself off the floor and upside down and even managed a somersault with my beautiful black silk.  I only wish I had brought my IPhone so I could have asked the instructor to take some pics.  Maybe next class 😉  cause you know where I’ll be next Thursday morning at 6:30 am 🙂

aerial yoga

Now off to some real hard core yoga sweating for my noon hot vinyasa class!!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Namaste,

Lisa

Leave a Reply

