Mini Apple Crumbles

13 Nov

I made these yummy treats this past weekend and when I posted the pic on Twitter I had some followers ask for the recipe so here it is folks…

I fell in love with this recipe when I first saw a picture of mini pies in Shape magazine’s November issue.  But let me tell you…after taking my first bite of these sinfully delicious “muffin” treats I was hooked!!!  They are soooo good and I know I say this about a lot of the recipes I post but this one actually tastes too good to be healthy.  I had to look over the ingredients again after I ate one to make sure there weren’t any unhealthy ingredients in it.  They are so sweet that you’d think there’s sugar added for sure…but the secret ingredient is pure maple syrup which is definitely sweet, but actually good for you (in moderation, of course!!)

IMG_5271[1]Ingredients:

For the Crumble Topping
cooking spray (olive oil in a spray bottle)
1/2 cup rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 cup brown rice or other gluten-free flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of sea salt
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
2 tbsp cold, unsalted vegan butter, cut into small pieces

For the Apple Filling
2 firm apples, peeled, cored and diced
2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly coat a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside.

2.  To make the crumble topping, combine oats, flour, cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl.  Stir in maple syrup until well coated.  Use a fork to smash the butter pieces into the oat mixture until  crumbly.  Set aside.

3.  To make the apple filling, add apples, maple syrup, and 1/2 cup water to a small saucepan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

4.  Meanwhile, place 1 teaspoon of the oat mixture into the bottom of each muffin cup.  Use your fingers to gently press down to form a solid crust.  Place 1 tablespoon of the apple mixture over each and top with remaining crumble, distributing evenly among all muffin cups*.  Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from oven, let cool to room temperature, then use a butter knife to gently remove from pan.  Serve at room temperature.

*I found there wasn’t enough crumble to cover all of the muffin cups so I would suggest perhaps increasing the amount of topping you make by perhaps 1/3.  That is what I will be trying next time I make these.

Source:  SHAPE Magazine

Enjoy!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

