An Intimate Evening at Kelly’s Bake Shoppe

11 Dec

IMG_5541
Last night I had the privilege of attending a private gathering at Kelly’s Bake Shoppe. It was an invitation only event that brought 30 women together in a cozy and comfortable setting with baked goods and coffee and tea and the opportunity to ask any questions we had about this amazing mother/daughter duo and the two businesses they run together.

Let me start by saying how inspiring these two women are.  Kelly Childs is the founder of KindFood Cafe (now known as Lettuce Love Cafe), which is voted the #1 vegan restaurant in Burlington by TripAdvisor.  She, along with her daughter Erinn Weatherbie, also created Kelly’s Bake Shoppe, which was birthed as a result of the extremely high demand for more of their delicious-tasting baked goods.  Kelly’s Bake Shoppe is a vegan, gluten-free, nut-free, soy-free, dairy-free, and sugar-free bakery which has won BEST bakery and BEST dessert (for their Mile High Brownie which is my personal FAVE!) for Toronto and the GTA.  And if you’re thinking that a baked good without any of those ingredients listed above can’t possibly taste good…guess again!

IMG_5557

Listening to them speak last night and answer endless questions from what ingredients they use in their delicious dishes to what kind of makeup they wear was absolutely fascinating!  They were gracious, kind, patient and very generous with the information they shared with each and every one of us – and that includes their respective partners in life, Ken and Mike.  They each come from a place of non-judgment and were so sincere and genuine with their personal stories and their intention of wanting to help and inspire others.  I know they inspired me because I began my 3-day juice cleanse today ;).  The amount of information I received last night was exceptional and I am looking forward to educating myself even more with some of the many books they suggested we read to help us on our journey to veganism.   As many of my followers may already know, I am not yet a full vegan and not ashamed to admit that either (even knowing that Kelly will be reading this post :)).  I gave up red meat and dairy almost 5 years ago and let go of all other meat a couple of years ago (like chicken and turkey).  I am still working on giving up the fish and eggs but it’s a process and something that I am working towards.  I know I will get there…it’s just a matter of time.

My goal in life is to inspire others to live a healthier lifestyle.  Whether that is by going vegan is definitely a personal choice.  I don’t judge others for the choices they make in their lives.  My job is to only try and educate people to make healthier choices so that they can live the best possible versions of their own lives.  What I can say though, is that I admire both Kelly and Erinn for their determination, dedication and success in spreading the goodness of what they know to all of us.  I am also grateful for the women who I had the opportunity to share my space with in that beautiful bake shoppe yesterday evening.  Hearing their stories, their questions, their successes and their struggles helped me to understand and appreciate all the different places we come from and the positive directions in which we are headed.

Thank you to Kelly, Erinn, Ken and Mike for last night and for all that you do each and every day of your lives to help make the lives of others better.  The world is a better place with all of you in it and I can only hope that I will one day have the same effect on others that you have each had on me and my family.  My kids and man are also grateful for the free goodies they got to eat this morning for breakfast <3!

IMG_5543

     IMG_5546     IMG_5545     IMG_5544

We got a behind-the-scenes tour!!

IMG_5554

With much love and peace xoxoxo.

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

