Being Able to Share My Passion with My Children

16 Mar

Tomorrow will be our last day here in Florida and I can’t begin to explain how happy I am that I made the decision to bring my children here for March Break.  Not to mention the obvious reason of escaping the long, cold and snowy winter we have had, this week has enabled my children to spend time with their grandparents doing things we don’t normally do on a daily basis back home.

Taking a walk in Lake’s Park watching for alligators, turtles, wild birds and more.

IMG_6463

Renting a 6-passenger bicycle and enjoying all the natural scenery it has to offer.

IMG_6472

Playing tennis and shuffle board and many games of cards while taking a break from too much sun.

IMG_6334

We have created priceless memories that will be forever cherished.  It’s nice to slow down once in a while in the midst of our hectic and crazy lifestyles and just enjoy the moment.  To just wake up and breathe and smile, knowing that you have nothing planned for the day other than to just enjoy it ;)!  For someone with Type A personality, like myself, it’s a good thing!

IMG_6336I have been able to go for my morning runs (which I haven’t done all winter back home) and didn’t realize how much I missed it until this past week.  I love running!  I love the feeling of just letting my mind go while taking in the beauty of nature around me.  I got a little distracted one morning when I saw an alligator’s eye looking back at me, but heck, it’s Florida and I had been warned!!!  (It poked it’s head back in the water before I had a chance to take a picture of it so I decided to take a selfie instead).  And oh how beautiful it is to practice yoga under the sun.  I swear I could move here just to be able to do that every day!!!  Having the morning sun shine down on me while doing my practice definitely gives new meaning to the word Sun Salutation.  IMG_1118My children have been able to witness, first hand, how we are able to incorporate health and fitness in to our lifestyle even while we are on vacation – and that is a very important message for me to able to convey to them!  Not to mention watching my daughter rock some pretty intense yoga poses on the beach and under some palm trees!!

IMG_6411 IMG_6455

 

You all know my passion for health and fitness but those closest to me also know about my other passion…family.  Nothing means more to me than the bond of family and spending this precious time with my children and my parents this week has made me happier than words can describe.  It’s the simple things in life that put a huge smile on my face.  Hearing my children laugh, watching them play (and let’s be honest…fight) with each other, and seeing the joy in my father’s eyes while he does the same with my children is absolutely priceless!  I am already looking forward to the next vacation…

Enough said…time to head out to the pool ;)!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

