A Grocery List for your New Clean Eating Whole Foods Plant-Based Diet

21 Mar

I will start right away by saying that I am not yet a full-blown vegan and don’t know that I ever will be.  Although I haven’t touched meat in years, every once in a while I succumb to wanting a pizza with real cheese or crave some eggs in the morning and I don’t beat myself up for it.  It’s very likely that I will eventually give it all up completely, as I know it is a process and not an overnight sensation, but I choose to focus on the now and right now I eat a plant-based diet probably 90% of the time and I am happy with that.

Having said that, I feel healthier than I ever have and have enjoyed some of my best meals since switching from animal-based to plant-based products.  The most common question I get asked is “What do you eat?”.  The problem with that question is that the answers are endless.  I eat plenty of delicious fruits and vegetables – I have become obssessed with vitamin-packed foods like kale and spinach and put it in practically anything and everything I eat or drink (see my green smoothie or juice recipes).  Quinoa is my go-to grain and I choose it over rice or pasta because it’s just as filling and tasty as those other starches but contains protein so it balances out my meals.  I love, love, love tempeh but eat it only once or twice a week as it is soy-based and I limit my soy intake (need to make room for my soy latte treats from Starbucks you know 😉 ).  When I cook tacos for my kids on Taco Tuesdays (yes my kids still consume meat although usually only white, organic, grain-fed meat), I enjoy my homemade tempeh burger and it’s a fun, enjoyable meal for us all.  If you can think of a fruit, vegetable, grain, bean, legume or any other natural growing plant-based food then you can bet I eat it.  My diet probably contains a variety of more food than many people out there who think I don’t eat enough.

I never allow myself to feel deprived.  It’s just not worth it.  Life’s too short.  It’s about making sensible decisions that fit with your lifestyle.  Even if your lifestyle includes eating animal-based foods, there is nothing wrong with that as long as you are making healthy choices and always being conscious of what you are feeding your body.  It doesn’t hurt to add more variety to your already existent diet.

Read this link below which is a good resource for anyone wanting to incorporate more plant-based products in to their life but not sure where to begin.  I think I should print some copies and carry them in my bag to hand out to people who ask me “but what do you eat”?

http://www.mnn.com/food/healthy-eating/stories/vegan-grocery-list-top-50-staples-for-a-meat-free-diet

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

