Meatless Monday Recipe – Meat Free Kofta

28 Apr

If there is one thing I miss terribly about being married to a Middle-Eastern man, it’s my former mother-in-law’s cooking!!  She made the best of every Lebanese dish I have ever eaten.  One of the dishes I enjoyed most, when I still used to eat meat, was Kofta.  It’s a Middle Eastern kabob or meatball and it is oh so yummy.  So now, of course, since meat is no longer part of my diet, I had to find something that could come close and I think I just may have.  The mushrooms in this recipe provide the meaty flavour.  I can’t wait to try these!

If any of you get to making them before I do let me know how they turn out.  I am curious to know if any of my followers are actually trying any of the recipes I have posted.  Tell me…which Meatless Monday recipe is your favourite??

This recipe serves 4 so if you are entertaining more people you can just double the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion
  • 2 to 3 carrots
  • 1 kg mushrooms (2.2 lbs.)
  • 200 grams red lentils (7 oz.)
  • 100 g hazelnuts (3.5 oz.)
  • 1 egg (or 1 tbsp chia seeds to 3 tbsp water if you want to make this recipe vegan)
  • rolled oats (not quick oats) or rice flour
  • Salt, pepper, garlic, to taste

Kofta

Instructions:

Grate the onions and carrots. Finely chop the mushrooms and fry them in a pan with a bit of extra virgin olive oil, adding a little salt, pepper and garlic.

Cook red lentils in plenty of water for approximately 15 to 20 minutes. Drain through a sieve and rinse under cold water. (Note:  red lentils turn to a mushy yellow texture when cooked).  Finely chop the hazelnuts.

Put cooked lentils in a large bowl along with grated onion, carrots, fried mushrooms, hazelnuts, eggs, salt, pepper and gently mix together. Gradually add oatmeal and / or flour until you get the desired consistency. Shape to a size of a muffin and fry in a frying pan until the meat free kofta are brown and crispy.

Voila!!  Enjoy!

Source:  www.meatlessmonday.com

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

 

Leave a Reply

