Quote

One Year Anniversary

27 Jun

This weekend marks the one year anniversary of my children and I moving to Oakville, and what a year it has been.

Making the decision to leave the comfort of my parent’s home, pick up my two kids, change their school and move in with my boyfriend was HUGE for me.  As any parent knows, once you have kids, the life choices you make are not so much about your life anymore as they are about your children.  I knew I loved my man and that my kids liked him but I didn’t know what living together would mean for all of us.  I was a little scared of what the future held.  Afraid of making the wrong decision.  Worried about things falling apart and disappointing my children, my parents, Marques…and myself.  I kept asking myself “What if it doesn’t work out?” and stressed over the answers to that question until I finally asked myself “What if it does?”

My tendency in life has always been to worry about the unexpected.  I have Type A personality and like to be in control of things.  I was that person who wanted to know the outcome before I would even attempt it.  But that all changed when I separated from my ex-husband.  Suddenly it dawned on me that it doesn’t matter how much you try to plan, how much you want to be in control – truth of the matter is that no one has absolutely any control over what happens to them.  The only control you have is how you react to the situations that are brought in front of you during your time here.

I don’t know what the future holds.  I no longer spend too much time worrying about that anymore anyway.  What I do know is what is true at this moment.  What is true is that my kids are happy.  My kids have had a phenomenal first year at their new school (they both brought home almost straight A report cards!!).  They have made more friends in this school and in our neighbourhood than I had my entire childhood.  I know that they don’t want to leave this house.  I know that they love the man I love.  The man who has been the most amazing, loving, caring, gentle (okay not so gentle when it comes to sports ;)), fun and giving person I have ever known.  The man who coaches my son’s soccer and hockey teams.  The man who taught my daughter how to ride a bike and roller blade.  The man who has taken my daughter to her dance classes when I have been unable to.  The man who kisses them good morning every single day and kisses them good night every single evening when they go to bed.  The man who has been a better “father figure” to my children than I could have ever dreamed of finding.

IMG_1513 IMG_1507 IMG_3404

IMG_6201

There aren’t enough words to describe how this man has changed my life.

Marques, you make me want to be a better person.  Your calm, easy, black and white approach to life, which can sometimes drive me crazy, is something I admire.  The joy you have brought to my life is unparalleled to anything else I have experienced in my life so far.  I love the way you make me smile, the way you make me laugh hysterically and the support you give me every single day that we have been together.  Whether it’s around the house, with the kids, running errands or when I put myself in crisis mode and stress myself out.  No matter what, I have never doubted that you are there for me.  I can always rely on you to be my partner in life and that’s a feeling I spent a long time searching for.  It doesn’t go unnoticed that I wouldn’t be doing what I love if I didn’t have your support.  I may not say it often enough but I am so happy to have found you and fallen in love with you and I feel blessed to be loved by a man like you.IMG_2835

IMG_294132150_10151258014516050_1563864028_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

It has been an amazing first year living together as a family.  I won’t deny we have had some growing pains but that is part of life and doesn’t compare to all the amazing memories we have created together these past 12 months.  I am grateful for what we have created together and hopeful that we will continue to create more beautiful memories together.

Happy One Year Anniversary Baby!  We love you!!

IMG_2256IMG_5394IMG_7301[1]

Happy Canada Day Long Weekend!

Until next time,

Have a fit and fabulous day!

Lisa

One Response to “One Year Anniversary”

  1. Martha June 27, 2014 at 1:01 pm #

    You just made Mom cry, so happy for you and your family, and thank you Marques for being part of this family, Love you guys Mom ,Vavo

Leave a Reply

